Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 12 of 27

Thread: Speedometer not working and tranny wont shift

  1. Top | #1
    Forum Newbie
    Array Race Junkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Last Online
    03-11-2009 @ 09:54 PM
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Speedometer not working and tranny wont shift

    car runs but wont shift and the the speedometer dosent work. And th apower steering light came on?? Any sugestions??

  2. Top | #2
    Official Forum Whore Array DaFlyinSkwirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    05-28-2014 @ 04:35 AM
    Location
    Jackson, New Jersey, United States, 105823542791088, Jackson, New Jersey
    Posts
    1,056
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    any CELs?

    check the VSS, make sure its plugged in. Not sure where it is on the automatics

  3. Top | #3
    Crazy Moderator
    Array Cinpro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    Today @ 08:53 AM
    Location
    Hurricane WV
    Âge
    42
    Posts
    3,175
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
    its on the passenger side, facing the firewall about 4-5 inches toward the center from where the CV axle meets the trans
    http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a174/Cinpro/jokercopy2.jpg

    It's not what you buy,it's what you build!

  4. Top | #4
    Like Father, Like Son
    Array NJHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    12-18-2012 @ 05:30 PM
    Location
    East Brunswick, New Jersey
    Âge
    30
    Posts
    15,357
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 30 Times in 23 Posts
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: AdamNJHK
    any CELs?

    check the VSS, make sure its plugged in. Not sure where it is on the automatics
    DaFlyinSkwirl Quoted Post
    I was thinking exactly the VSS isn't working too.

  5. Top | #5
    Official Forum Whore
    Array froggy81500's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Last Online
    05-14-2011 @ 01:10 PM
    Location
    Upstate, NY
    Posts
    946
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    do these tranny's have input and output shaft speed sensors? A lot of times on dodges this sort of issue would come up and it would be one or both of thse sensors. Yes, we are not talking about dodges but I'm just thinking here.

    These are my new brake guys. Would you let them work on your car?

    http://www.myspace.com/froggy81500

  6. Top | #6
    Official Forum Whore Array DaFlyinSkwirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    05-28-2014 @ 04:35 AM
    Location
    Jackson, New Jersey, United States, 105823542791088, Jackson, New Jersey
    Posts
    1,056
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    ^^ I know the 5 speeds just have a reluctor ring that a sensor counts and the signal is decoded in the ecu. I doubt the autos are differ

  7. Top | #7
    Crazy Moderator
    Array Cinpro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    Today @ 08:53 AM
    Location
    Hurricane WV
    Âge
    42
    Posts
    3,175
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
    Vehicle Speed Sensor (VSS) Replacement

    Removal Procedure


    1. Disconnect the negative battery cable.
    2. Raise and support the vehicle.
    3. Remove the electrical connector at the vehicle speed sensor.




    1. Remove the retaining stud and the sensor. Pull straight out in order to avoid damage to tire case.

    Installation Procedure


    1. Clean and dry the vehicle speed sensor. Notice: Refer to Fastener Notice in Service Precautions.

    Install the vehicle speed sensor and the retaining stud. Tighten the stud to 12 Nm (97 inch lbs.) .
    1. Install the electrical connector at the sensor.
    2. Lower the vehicle.
    3. Connect the negative battery cable.
    Last edited by Cinpro; 03-01-2009 at 08:37 AM. Reason: ALLDATA linked pictures changed :(
    http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a174/Cinpro/jokercopy2.jpg

    It's not what you buy,it's what you build!

  8. Top | #8
    Official Forum Whore
    Array froggy81500's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Last Online
    05-14-2011 @ 01:10 PM
    Location
    Upstate, NY
    Posts
    946
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    the VSS would address the speedo not working but what about the lack of shifting?

    These are my new brake guys. Would you let them work on your car?

    http://www.myspace.com/froggy81500

  9. Top | #9
    Crazy Moderator
    Array Cinpro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    Today @ 08:53 AM
    Location
    Hurricane WV
    Âge
    42
    Posts
    3,175
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
    if the ECM doesn't know what the speed and RPM are then it doesn't know when to shift, you may as well be in park.
    http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a174/Cinpro/jokercopy2.jpg

    It's not what you buy,it's what you build!

  10. Top | #10
    Official Forum Whore
    Array froggy81500's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Last Online
    05-14-2011 @ 01:10 PM
    Location
    Upstate, NY
    Posts
    946
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    if the ECM doesn't know what the speed and RPM are then it doesn't know when to shift, you may as well be in park.
    Cinny Quoted Post
    gotcha, I didn't realize the VSS was more than just for speedo function. Makes sense, and thanks for the brief education. My mind was thinking back to pre-electronically controlled trannys when all the VSS was used for would have been the speedo.

    and makes more sense now, because I mentioned dodges earlier and the input and output shaft sensors those transaxles didn't have a VSS to the best of my knowledge, they used the signal from the output sensor for speedo function. I guess it boils down to how each manufacturer sets theirs up. Dodge uses shaft sensors and GM uses the VSS.

    It is true that you learn something new everyday.
    Last edited by froggy81500; 02-21-2009 at 11:54 AM.

    These are my new brake guys. Would you let them work on your car?

    http://www.myspace.com/froggy81500

  11. Top | #11
    Forum Newbie
    Array Race Junkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Last Online
    03-11-2009 @ 09:54 PM
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Replaced the VSS checked the wiring. but still nothing. This car sat for a week or two and the battery did go dead. The car worked fine previously. We did get a couple of codes U2100,U2105, U2106 with the scanner telling us that the there was no communications from the BCM. We cheked the wires and grounds at the connectors to the BCM. Cleaned with contact cleaner aslo. ran out of daylaight and could not continue. Can the BCM be pelaced ?? can i take it to the dealer with VIN # and have them reflash it?? I really appreciate your suggestions.
    Last edited by Race Junkie; 02-22-2009 at 10:15 PM. Reason: spelling

  12. Top | #12
    Crazy Moderator
    Array Cinpro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    Today @ 08:53 AM
    Location
    Hurricane WV
    Âge
    42
    Posts
    3,175
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
    this is all I could come up with, maybe someone can make more use of this info for you.

    U2100 Chevrolet:Controller Area Network (CAN) Bus OFF
    U2105 Chevrolet:CAN Bus Error ECM
    U2106 Chevrolet:Lost Comm with Trans Control System
    http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a174/Cinpro/jokercopy2.jpg

    It's not what you buy,it's what you build!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 02 grand am changed tranny now wont run right
    By Justinh722 in forum Tech Help Section
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-19-2010, 03:52 PM
  2. new ecm not working
    By mr.castrechino in forum Engine Management/Tuning
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 10-21-2010, 10:50 PM
  3. speedometer
    By 05ecotec1sv in forum Tech Help Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-24-2009, 06:33 PM
  4. wont rev out
    By slowcavalier in forum 2.2 General Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-23-2009, 07:47 PM
  5. speedometer mileage flickers
    By judsteele in forum Tech Help Section
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-21-2009, 08:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •