Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 13 to 24 of 24

Thread: ecotec transplant

  1. Top | #13
    Senior Citizen Member
    Array rfogalx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Last Online
    08-18-2010 @ 02:36 PM
    Location
    Altoona, PA
    Âge
    26
    Posts
    257
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i never knew they had 2.4L ecotecs.. lol wow i thought it was only the l61 2.2L .. wait or is the le5 motor the 2.4L version of the ecotec? I've never heard of anyone referring to it as a 2.4L ecotec? i'm amazed by this..

  2. Top | #14
    Forum Newbie
    Array TheDouche's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Online
    07-21-2008 @ 08:12 PM
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    yeah im not really doing this for power. if i was doing that i would just drop a v8(cheaper power). im doing this cause nobody really does. ive never seen a 4cyl in any old school cars really. the original 170cid striaght 6 made like 60 hp and it had a 2 speed auto so i think getting a ecotec with over 100 of both and a 5 speed would be a huge upgrade in gas milage and performance. im not looking to fly down the streets. just something different so i can drive it on the streets everyday. i have a 2000 silverado for work so to have something i can take to the beach and fill with friends to get there in a eye catcher would be just enough for me or maybe even take camping. thats my goal with this project. i dont want to be flying at 100mph.....i dont think they designed this car to do that speed haha. im not sure of the weight of the wagon but it shouldnt be more then the HHR really. it is a rather small vehicle haha.

  3. Top | #15
    Banned
    Array FReQ Z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Last Online
    04-23-2009 @ 02:13 PM
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Âge
    41
    Posts
    1,651
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    L61 - 2.2L
    LNF - turbocharged 2.0L
    LSJ - supercharged 2.0L
    LE5 - 2.4L
    L42 - CNG 2.2L

  4. Top | #16
    Osirus of this S**t
    Array maven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Online
    12-26-2011 @ 07:08 PM
    Location
    Mays Landing, NJ USA
    Âge
    41
    Posts
    2,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Okay guys............first of all, the Falcon is a pretty light car, it will easily weigh less than a Cavy with an ECO in it.

    I'd recommend picking yourself up a 2.0L LSJ, more power, less electronics, just as easy if not easier to find.
    (a very mildly modified 2.2L L61 will meet your goals though, youd be looking at 160hp/160tq easy, and of course L61s are the cheapest and most abundant, a used running L61 can be had for $500-1000 in my area)

    As far as using the 5L40 automatic that comes in the Solstice, forget it. Its crazy complex(it uses 11 different apply/hold components, the new 6speeds only have 5!) its heavy as hell(it weighs 25lbs more than the good old 4L60), and it requires some pretty serious electronics of its own. And of course, its expensive. Your best bet is IMO to pick up and adapter ring like the FWD race guys use to run big 4T65 transaxles, bolt that sucker up and then youll be able to use the much more common, trustworthy, lightweight, inexpensive 200-4R(of Grand National fame)
    Last edited by maven; 07-20-2008 at 07:43 PM.
    I know stuff about ECOTECS

    Featured Member #002


  5. Top | #17
    Like Father, Like Son
    Array NJHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    12-18-2012 @ 05:30 PM
    Location
    East Brunswick, New Jersey
    Âge
    33
    Posts
    15,279
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 33 Times in 23 Posts
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: AdamNJHK
    *Moved to ECOTEC Hybrid Forum*

  6. Top | #18
    Osirus of this S**t
    Array ilovecars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Last Online
    01-19-2014 @ 06:42 PM
    Location
    maryland
    Âge
    27
    Posts
    2,858
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    they make 2.4 ecotecs?
    rfogalx Quoted Post
    lol^

    but as for this build BAD ASS!!
    and as soon as your start this


  7. Top | #19
    Osirus of this S**t
    Array GMPARTSPRO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    02-23-2014 @ 11:15 AM
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Âge
    35
    Posts
    2,614
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Interesting!

    GM in a Ford....For the win!!!!



    If you were premium you could see this...


    Oh & my wiener is bigger than Cheesecake's

  8. Top | #20
    Forum Newbie
    Array TheDouche's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Last Online
    07-21-2008 @ 08:12 PM
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Okay guys............first of all, the Falcon is a pretty light car, it will easily weigh less than a Cavy with an ECO in it.

    I'd recommend picking yourself up a 2.0L LSJ, more power, less electronics, just as easy if not easier to find.
    (a very mildly modified 2.2L L61 will meet your goals though, youd be looking at 160hp/160tq easy, and of course L61s are the cheapest and most abundant, a used running L61 can be had for $500-1000 in my area)

    As far as using the 5L40 automatic that comes in the Solstice, forget it. Its crazy complex(it uses 11 different apply/hold components, the new 6speeds only have 5!) its heavy as hell(it weighs 25lbs more than the good old 4L60), and it requires some pretty serious electronics of its own. And of course, its expensive. Your best bet is IMO to pick up and adapter ring like the FWD race guys use to run big 4T65 transaxles, bolt that sucker up and then youll be able to use the much more common, trustworthy, lightweight, inexpensive 200-4R(of Grand National fame)
    maven Quoted Post
    hmmm.......what about using a 4L60E out of a s10 or something like that? i would really like to have the extra gears cause it would obviously be a little faster. awsome! so i should be looking for a 2.2L with accessories and comp. im getting stoked about this project. its just gunna take some time to get around to it.

    why else would you drop a GM powerplant into a ford? to make it reliable and make the ford guys drool hahahaha.

  9. Top | #21
    Osirus of this S**t
    Array maven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Last Online
    12-26-2011 @ 07:08 PM
    Location
    Mays Landing, NJ USA
    Âge
    41
    Posts
    2,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    hmmm.......what about using a 4L60E out of a s10 or something like that? i would really like to have the extra gears cause it would obviously be a little faster. awsome! so i should be looking for a 2.2L with accessories and comp. im getting stoked about this project. its just gunna take some time to get around to it.

    why else would you drop a GM powerplant into a ford? to make it reliable and make the ford guys drool hahahaha.
    TheDouche Quoted Post
    The 4L60e is a good trans, but its a bit heavier and consumes more powere than the 200-4R does. It also will be a little harder/more expensive to come across a 4L60e with the B-O-P bellhousing you need to be able to bolt to the ECO adapter ring. And of course, you need a controller/harness for the 4l60e. You could use a 700R4 if you can find a BOP one, but I think the best bet is probably the 200-4R unless you have one of these other transmissions "in stock"
    I know stuff about ECOTECS

    Featured Member #002


  10. Top | #22
    Osirus of this S**t
    Array ilovecars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Last Online
    01-19-2014 @ 06:42 PM
    Location
    maryland
    Âge
    27
    Posts
    2,858
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    man cant wait for this to start


  11. Top | #23
    Forum Newbie
    Array PapaG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Last Online
    10-21-2014 @ 04:21 PM
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    In my area the 460le is the least expensive transmission that I see.Mom had a 4 door falcon with a 289 and C4.I had a falcon rancho with a 260 and 3 on the tree.I think a l61 or ? Should fit but I hear it is a little tall in a for a rwd swap I am hoping to do this in my luv truck.I have used falcons with the I 6 170 cu. in. Not a rocket ship I think it would be cool. Quad4rods.com makes adapters for auto and t5 transmission's. Their are a few places that will modify a factory.harness and ecm. A dune buggy place that will make you a harness.
    Or you can see about using a megasquirt unit. I built one of the first version's and used it on a VW. I am on my little Android tablet or I would post links. Big pita on this thing.
    Now that I have stirred the pot. HTH
    Any 3800 engine should have a BOP bolt pattern. It is a newer version of the Buick v6 I think some of the comaros used the transmission and engine. But I will have to look again. I found that when I was looking to do a l67 3800 .supercharged v6 into a rwd swap.
    Last edited by PapaG; 07-21-2014 at 02:11 AM.

  12. Top | #24
    Forum Newbie
    Array PapaG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Last Online
    10-21-2014 @ 04:21 PM
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The 200r4 would be good and better than the 700r4 because of the gear spacings. But both you have to deal with a TV cable which may work with a non electronic throttle body. I have a good link to the tv cable and it's workings. No link for the same reason above. I have done a lot of research into transmission's because of the 3800 swap and the electronic throttle body on my Saturn Vue engine. Not much help on the engine that is where i need help.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. ecotec transplant
    By leebo in forum ECOTEC Hybrid / Motor Swap
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-18-2010, 07:23 AM
  2. TTR Ecotec Solid Engine Mount for Ecotec Forum Members ONLY!
    By TurboTechRacing in forum Turbo Tech Racing
    Replies: 95
    Last Post: 10-16-2009, 12:08 AM
  3. 07 ecotec for my 02 ecotec cavalier.
    By 02cavcruzin in forum Tech Help Section
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-21-2009, 01:24 PM
  4. Ecotec engine transplant harnesses.
    By Painless in forum ECOTEC Hybrid / Motor Swap
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-16-2008, 01:51 AM
  5. earlier ecotec ECU vs newer ecotec ECU
    By DaFlyinSkwirl in forum Engine Management/Tuning
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 03-14-2007, 10:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •