Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: 2.4 to Ecotec swap

  1. Top | #1
    Forum Newbie
    Array dasbainer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Last Online
    06-13-2008 @ 03:57 PM
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    2.4 to Ecotec swap

    i have a 2001 z24 cavy, manual tranny and all options including abs and a/c.

    got a 2003 2.2 ecotec with a manual tranny. looking to do a swap.

    got the ecotec out the the wrecked car, and kept all the harnesses and ecu and so on.

    about to drop the 2.4 out and realized that the ecotech car does not have abs or ac.

    personally i dont care about he abs. but, the light will be on and the car will not pass the yearly inspection.

    what is the easiest thing for me to do? will the 2.4 wire harness work? or can i splice the abs wires into the ecotec harness? or is it better to get a ecotec harness that has these options i need? also, will i have to get a different ecu , that will support the options?

    thank you for any advice.

  2. Top | #2
    Banned
    Array FReQ Z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Last Online
    04-23-2009 @ 02:13 PM
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Âge
    37
    Posts
    1,658
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    grab the cluster, BCM and ECU out of the non-ABS car, and you won't get a CEL. also, grab the metering block out of the non-ABS car, take out the ABS module from the ABS car, and replace it with the metering block.

    bam! no more ABS, no codes, CEL's, nothing.

  3. Top | #3
    Like Father, Like Son
    Array NJHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    12-18-2012 @ 05:30 PM
    Location
    East Brunswick, New Jersey
    Âge
    29
    Posts
    15,357
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 30 Times in 23 Posts
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: AdamNJHK
    *Moved to ECOTEC Hybrid Forum*

Similar Threads

  1. Swap an Ecotec I4 into a '90 Camaro?
    By Fallen2603 in forum ECOTEC Hybrid / Motor Swap
    Replies: 194
    Last Post: 03-22-2014, 12:59 AM
  2. ECOTEC S10 Xtreme Swap
    By gcgxplosv1216 in forum ECOTEC Hybrid / Motor Swap
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-01-2007, 07:12 PM
  3. Ecotec swap won't start with key
    By Spider in forum 2.2 General Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-08-2007, 01:58 PM
  4. Ecotec Swap?
    By sayno2vtec in forum ECOTEC Hybrid / Motor Swap
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-09-2007, 10:19 PM
  5. 95-99 Ecotec swap.
    By phlatcav in forum ECOTEC Hybrid / Motor Swap
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-06-2007, 09:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •