Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Warning: Trouble getting the Reflash WITHOUT a supercharger kit (Please Read!)

  1. Top | #1
    Like Father, Like Son
    Array NJHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    12-18-2012 @ 05:30 PM
    Location
    East Brunswick, New Jersey
    Âge
    33
    Posts
    15,279
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 33 Times in 23 Posts
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: AdamNJHK

    Exclamation Warning: Trouble getting the Reflash WITHOUT a supercharger kit (Please Read!)

    Some of my friends know the situation but I thought I would explain to everyone is really planning on getting the reflash without the turbo kit.

    I spent over 5 hrs at my dealership trying to get my car reflashed and it all came down to the Tech Line (you have to call them to get the VCI #) WILL NOT give out a VCI # if you didn't buy a supercharger kit.

    Now, technically, the Tech Line can't really prove that you do or don't have a supercharger kit but more than likely, the dealership calling in for you will NOT lie to them in risk of their job being in jeopardy if things come back to them. My dealership of course told them I had a turbocharger and they immediately say no.

    Unlike the 2.4 Twin Cam Supercharger kits, the VCI # isn't something that is kit specific, they are all the same # depending on the model & transmission type. You basically have to give the tech line your Vin # and they give you the appropriate VCI # so your technician to put it into the Tech 2 to reflash your PCM.

    Right now, I'm in a bad situation. My manifold is modified to fit the bigger MAP sensor, my connector wiring (stock) is cut up, so I had to leave the new MAP sensor in w/the wiring. With it in and no reflash, it runs EXTREMELY LEAN! I'm talking about driving like Ultra grandma in order not to lean it out extremely.

    I'm going to call an actual Performance Dealership today and see what they can do for me. Hopefully if I tell them that I will sign a waiver saying that GM is not responsible for it not working and that my warranty is over with, they will do it for me or help me out somehow.

    I'll keep you guys posted. This is just a heads up though.

  2. Top | #2
    Senior Citizen Member
    Array Spitfir304's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    08-06-2010 @ 01:30 PM
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    486
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yeah, Adam - Sorry I couldnt help out more - I am thinking of getting a part time job at the dealership near me just so I can get this done on my car! I wonder if the Sunfire and Cavalier Auto Trans VCI # are any different? If not, then Hopefully we can share information when either of us figures out how to get it.

    Actually they may be different due to the different year cars - mine being a 2002 and yours a 2003.


    You're not a real tuner until you blow the fuck out of an ecotec
    bc3tech Quoted Post

  3. Top | #3
    Forum Participator
    Array Crabgrass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    05-08-2008 @ 09:06 AM
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    any updateds on this?

  4. Top | #4
    Like Father, Like Son
    Array NJHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    12-18-2012 @ 05:30 PM
    Location
    East Brunswick, New Jersey
    Âge
    33
    Posts
    15,279
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 33 Times in 23 Posts
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: AdamNJHK
    any updateds on this?
    Crabgrass
    Tuesday I'm going for the reflash. Found someone to help me in PA.

  5. Top | #5
    Osirus of this S**t
    Array Admiral Jedi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    @
    Location
    Spring Hill
    Âge
    30
    Posts
    6,687
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: Cogent Design
    That's a relief, careful driving.

    Look on the brightside, driving like a grandma is saving you gas...

    Just until you get the reflash and have fun.

  6. Top | #6
    Like Father, Like Son
    Array NJHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    12-18-2012 @ 05:30 PM
    Location
    East Brunswick, New Jersey
    Âge
    33
    Posts
    15,279
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 33 Times in 23 Posts
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: AdamNJHK
    That's a relief, careful driving.

    Look on the brightside, driving like a grandma is saving you gas...

    Just until you get the reflash and have fun.
    Admiral Jedi
    Wierd thing about it is that the computer learns the new sensor to a point of driving like a human lol I can drive normal now...just not boosting with a good a/f. 14.7 across the board basically.

  7. Top | #7
    Forum Participator
    Array Crabgrass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    05-08-2008 @ 09:06 AM
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Is it done? hows it running?
    Just looking for an update.

    And do you regret putting boost on your car.?
    I actually having second thoughts on putting a turbo on my car.
    But I've spent way to much to turn back so i just want your input

  8. Top | #8
    Senior Citizen Member
    Array iamadarklittlefox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Last Online
    08-04-2006 @ 05:42 AM
    Posts
    298
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i think your screwed unless you slip the tech some change.

  9. Top | #9
    Like Father, Like Son
    Array NJHK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    12-18-2012 @ 05:30 PM
    Location
    East Brunswick, New Jersey
    Âge
    33
    Posts
    15,279
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 33 Times in 23 Posts
    Gamer IDs

    Gamertag: AdamNJHK
    Is it done? hows it running?
    Just looking for an update.

    And do you regret putting boost on your car.?
    I actually having second thoughts on putting a turbo on my car.
    But I've spent way to much to turn back so i just want your input
    Crabgrass
    I've been having issues computer wise even before the reflash as far as my transmission goes. Won't let me rev pass 3,800 RPMs and it's pissing me off. Trying to figure out why.

  10. Top | #10
    Crazy Moderator
    Array Cinpro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    04-29-2016 @ 10:03 PM
    Location
    Hurricane WV
    Âge
    46
    Posts
    3,267
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    heres an interesting project, the flash files are readily available in the tune repository on HPT. basically you rewire the car with a 2000+ 2200 or z24 PCM and wiring harness. theres a lot more to it, so read the article.
    http://www.j-body.org/forums/read.ph...=20831&t=20831
    http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a174/Cinpro/jokercopy2.jpg

    It's not what you buy,it's what you build!

Similar Threads

  1. HPT editble 03-05 Jbody Eco 2.2 Supercharger Reflash (2.5 BAR OS)
    By blackeco in forum Engine Management/Tuning
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-06-2010, 02:22 PM
  2. Jbody Supercharger Reflash minus boost =
    By Admiral Jedi in forum Engine Management/Tuning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-04-2008, 09:50 AM
  3. Reflash w/out supercharger
    By Admiral Jedi in forum Engine Management/Tuning
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-12-2006, 04:25 PM
  4. Having FPR trouble, need help!
    By NJHK in forum 2.2 General Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-31-2006, 05:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •