Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast
Results 13 to 24 of 151

Thread: What car is my ecotec motor from?

  1. Top | #13
    Senior Member
    Array EFIHARNESS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Online
    10-02-2017 @ 11:02 AM
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    You don't need the an fitting on the fuel line. Just cut the tubing where you need it. Use the regular fuel injection fuel line. 2 hose clamps and your done.
    The stock alt works fine. If you need power steering we use the electric one off the hhr. no pump needed. the 2 wires may be spares for your gauges, the other end comes out by the ecu.Steve

  2. Top | #14
    Osirus of this S**t
    Array nogo04cav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Online
    10-19-2017 @ 06:54 PM
    Posts
    2,025
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 46 Times in 45 Posts
    Guess you could move on to the header later and another muffler. Right now it's all about getting it running.
    You may beat me to it, but I'll try a VIN look up tonight(no time right now).
    More humans=more problems
    Don't worry nothing will be done until it's too late, there is money to be made.
    Maximum profit and overpopulation will ruin all the major economies.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to nogo04cav For This Useful Post:

    Stevie (08-07-2015)

  4. Top | #15
    Forum Participator
    Array Stevie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Last Online
    06-24-2016 @ 10:52 PM
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Guess you could move on to the header later and another muffler. Right now it's all about getting it running.
    You may beat me to it, but I'll try a VIN look up tonight(no time right now).
    nogo04cav Quoted Post
    Thanks!

  5. Top | #16
    Forum Participator
    Array Stevie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Last Online
    06-24-2016 @ 10:52 PM
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    You don't need the an fitting on the fuel line. Just cut the tubing where you need it. Use the regular fuel injection fuel line. 2 hose clamps and your done.
    The stock alt works fine. If you need power steering we use the electric one off the hhr. no pump needed. the 2 wires may be spares for your gauges, the other end comes out by the ecu.Steve
    EFIHARNESS Quoted Post
    Hey Steve did you build my harness for Alpha Fab?

  6. Top | #17
    Senior Member
    Array EFIHARNESS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Online
    10-02-2017 @ 11:02 AM
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    I build some for them and many other builders. Steve
    Last edited by EFIHARNESS; 08-07-2015 at 11:56 PM.

  7. Top | #18
    Osirus of this S**t
    Array nogo04cav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Online
    10-19-2017 @ 06:54 PM
    Posts
    2,025
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 46 Times in 45 Posts
    Having a bit of trouble with the VIN. I must be missing something, there should be 17 numbers and letters and there is only 15. Didn't count them out.

    http://vinchecker.net/
    More humans=more problems
    Don't worry nothing will be done until it's too late, there is money to be made.
    Maximum profit and overpopulation will ruin all the major economies.

  8. Top | #19
    Forum Participator
    Array Stevie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Last Online
    06-24-2016 @ 10:52 PM
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Having a bit of trouble with the VIN. I must be missing something, there should be 17 numbers and letters and there is only 15. Didn't count them out.

    http://vinchecker.net/
    nogo04cav Quoted Post
    Yeah I tried too, I guess the engine number is different than the vin number
    I think it's a late model malibu by the exhaust manifold number

  9. Top | #20
    Forum Participator
    Array Stevie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Last Online
    06-24-2016 @ 10:52 PM
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    What goes on the open nipple sticking up by the throttle body?

  10. Top | #21
    Osirus of this S**t
    Array nogo04cav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Online
    10-19-2017 @ 06:54 PM
    Posts
    2,025
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 46 Times in 45 Posts
    Oh man did I look around, tried all kinds of decoder sites. Most seemed to have the same list only going to 2005. Someone may chime in help out with this.

    The huge one? Brake booster vacuum line.
    Last edited by nogo04cav; 08-08-2015 at 09:53 AM.
    More humans=more problems
    Don't worry nothing will be done until it's too late, there is money to be made.
    Maximum profit and overpopulation will ruin all the major economies.

  11. Top | #22
    Forum Participator
    Array Stevie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Last Online
    06-24-2016 @ 10:52 PM
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Oh man did I look around, tried all kinds of decoder sites. Most seemed to have the same list only going to 2005. Someone may chime in help out with this.

    The huge one? Brake booster vacuum line.
    nogo04cav Quoted Post
    Thanks!
    Yeah there's one on top near the throttle body and one below
    So if I don't have a brake booster on my buggy, what I do about those... just plug them off?

  12. Top | #23
    Osirus of this S**t
    Array nogo04cav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Last Online
    10-19-2017 @ 06:54 PM
    Posts
    2,025
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 46 Times in 45 Posts
    Yeah just plug the one for the booster. The other smaller one should go to the FPR(it does on my 2.2L). Looks like you don't have one, now that I went back and looked at the photos. Kind remember that they got rid of them and the ECM controls the pressure(something like that).
    Last edited by nogo04cav; 08-09-2015 at 03:11 PM.
    More humans=more problems
    Don't worry nothing will be done until it's too late, there is money to be made.
    Maximum profit and overpopulation will ruin all the major economies.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to nogo04cav For This Useful Post:

    Stevie (08-09-2015)

  14. Top | #24
    Senior Member
    Array EFIHARNESS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Online
    10-02-2017 @ 11:02 AM
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Only one hole on the intake is used, behind the t/b for the map sensor. plug up all others. If you have a leak it will rev to approx 2000 rpm. The ecu does not control fuel pressure, only on or off. Steve

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to EFIHARNESS For This Useful Post:

    Stevie (08-09-2015)

Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •