Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: EFI Live not working

  1. Top | #1
    Forum Participator
    Array customcreationsllc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    10-16-2017 @ 07:52 PM
    Location
    Naugatuck CT
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    EFI Live not working

    I installed an L61 into my offroad buggy.
    I'm not looking for performance right now just to get it running.

    I have the wiring harness and computer from an 02 cavalier with the P11 PCM
    The EFI live gives me an error, It reads the PCM but non of the calibration details are there.
    EFI Live says they are not willing to go and fix an OS on a +10 year system.

    Does anyone know if HP tuners will work.

    Or anther PCM that will work.
    I already have the wiring harness I cut it all down, not that I couldn't do it again just easier to plug and play another P11 computer.
    I have a standard and a mechanical cable drive throttle body.

    Any suggestion would be helpful.
    I just don't want to buy another PCM and have it do the same thing.

    Thank you
    ~Justin

  2. Top | #2
    Old Dirty Dog Member
    Array Fallen2603's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Last Online
    07-11-2017 @ 11:27 PM
    Posts
    524
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

  3. Top | #3
    Forum Participator
    Array customcreationsllc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    10-16-2017 @ 07:52 PM
    Location
    Naugatuck CT
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Fallen2603 Quoted Post
    Yes EFI live says the same thing.
    But they said the PCM might have been flashed at the dealer or something.

  4. Top | #4
    Senior Citizen Member
    Array Sparkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Last Online
    05-30-2016 @ 04:30 PM
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Âge
    32
    Posts
    437
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    I am tuning my Cavaliers P11 PCM with no issue with HP Tuners. I can't think of any reason it would acknowledge the PCM and not read the tables. If you bought into EFI Live, I sure wouldn't run straight to HPT unless you hate money. I would try grabbing another PCM from a J/Y and see what happens. They are usually about $40. Any Cavalier/SunFire ECM from 2003-2005 and '02 ecotec will be the same.

  5. Top | #5
    Forum Participator
    Array customcreationsllc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    10-16-2017 @ 07:52 PM
    Location
    Naugatuck CT
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am tuning my Cavaliers P11 PCM with no issue with HP Tuners. I can't think of any reason it would acknowledge the PCM and not read the tables. If you bought into EFI Live, I sure wouldn't run straight to HPT unless you hate money. I would try grabbing another PCM from a J/Y and see what happens. They are usually about $40. Any Cavalier/SunFire ECM from 2003-2005 and '02 ecotec will be the same.
    Sparkey Quoted Post
    Thanks for the input.
    I just ordered an 05 cavalier Computer for $40 there are a million autos but only one or two standards.
    I wasn't sure if an auto would work.


    I was tempted to buy HPT but a friend has EFI Live...

  6. Top | #6
    Senior Member
    Array EFIHARNESS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Last Online
    10-02-2017 @ 11:02 AM
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    We have used hundreds of the p11's with efi live. Some times we have to reflash with tis to get the right os. Questions? give me a call. Steve 909 910 3867

  7. Top | #7
    Forum Participator
    Array customcreationsllc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    10-16-2017 @ 07:52 PM
    Location
    Naugatuck CT
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Steve I called you last night, and left you a message.
    I got another PCM from a 05 cavalier 5spd and having the same issue.
    Do you think the 5spd OS is different? I went with the 5spd P11 because I'm running a 5spd and thought it would be better not to worry about a TCM/delete.

    Do you have any advice, instead of keep buying computers, at least they are cheap but it is adding up.
    I have the ctz from both PCMs if that helps.

    Does anyone know if HPtuners will 100% work I don't want to buy that and not have it work either.

    here is EFI response (we asked about the 12593509 OS there was a thread in there forum 5 years ago)
    https://forum.efilive.com/archive/in...p/t-14169.html

    The 12593509 OS support never made it into the release product for some reason. Being 5 years ago all email related to that thread is long gone. I’ve also checked with development and they do not have a retained copy of that specific calz file either.

    We also do not have access to GMs library of calibration to be able to provide you with the 12598564 OS sorry. Not being familiar with the GM systems I’m not even sure if it would be possible to retire a superseded OS to be honest. The best options from here to try and get the 12598564 OS would be to either contact a dealer and see if they are able to do anything for you, or post on the forum and see if anyone might happen to have a calibration with that OS they can share with you.

    I’m really sorry but we’re really not able to assist you at all here unfortunately.
    Last edited by customcreationsllc; 06-04-2015 at 07:10 AM.

  8. Top | #8
    Senior Citizen Member
    Array Sparkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Last Online
    05-30-2016 @ 04:30 PM
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Âge
    32
    Posts
    437
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    I have tuned a few P11 ECU's with HPT, and HPT is what is used by the people over at JBO to tune P11's too. Auto/Manual makes no difference, the TCM is integral to the P11 and the tables pertaining to the Auto are just blanked out for a manual. I have used an Auto PCM in a manual with no issues.

  9. Top | #9
    Forum Participator
    Array customcreationsllc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Last Online
    10-16-2017 @ 07:52 PM
    Location
    Naugatuck CT
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    We have used hundreds of the p11's with efi live. Some times we have to reflash with tis to get the right os. Questions? give me a call. Steve 909 910 3867
    EFIHARNESS Quoted Post
    Runs good.
    Thanks for the help Steve, and the crazy fast turn around.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fGc-...ature=youtu.be

    ~Justin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •