Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 13 to 24 of 33

Thread: GM Oil Pressure Swithch question

  1. Top | #13
    Crazy Moderator
    Array Cinpro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    04-29-2016 @ 10:03 PM
    Location
    Hurricane WV
    Âge
    46
    Posts
    3,267
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    has the car been parked for awhile? what I'm after is how old is the gas?

    does it sputter alot when it dies, or is it a quiet death.

    did some reading this morning, it may be the oil sender, so I guess I was wrong on that one. I've been doing a lot of reading on other systems, probably mixed me up. worth a shot if all else has failed.

    if you give it gas when it started to die will it stay running or not make a difference?
    Last edited by Cinpro; 09-07-2014 at 03:09 PM.
    http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a174/Cinpro/jokercopy2.jpg

    It's not what you buy,it's what you build!

  2. Top | #14
    Forum Participator Array lovetowrenchit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Last Online
    09-10-2014 @ 07:48 AM
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    has the car been parked for awhile? no, the car has been driven dailywhat I'm after is how old is the gas? Gas is less than 2 weeks old

    does it sputter alot when it dies, or is it a quiet death.no sputter at all, it is a quiet death

    did some reading this morning, it may be the oil sender, so I guess I was wrong on that one. I've been doing a lot of reading on other systems, probably mixed me up. worth a shot if all else has failed. yes, it got me too. I also thought about the oil pressure switch, and hoping it was, but like you said,i'm not ruling it out

    if you give it gas when it started to die will it stay running or not make a difference?sometimes I can keep it running, but the engine has a weird sound to it at that point, and sometimes I don't have time to give it gas, and it dies
    Cinpro Quoted Post
    This is a weird issue...watch it turn out to be something simple Lol, and I'll be pissed that I didn't catch it

    when I go to start the engine cold or warm I use the same starting procedure

    put key in switch, turn switch to on ( gauges start to position themselves) I hear the fuel pump relay position, and the fuel pump prime.
    I then turn the key to the crank position ( all the gauges go back down, warning lights go off, I hear a weird servo kinda noise) and the engine fires up after a couple of revolutions, sometimes I get lucky and the engine will run long enough for me to get out the car and go to the engine to try and run some test.

    If the engine dies before I get out, or dies at any other time. I can't restart the engine with key in the on/run position and it were while running. The engine will crank from that key switch location, but will not fire up...I have to turn the key to the OFF position, then back to the ON position, listen for the fuel pump relay, then the fuel pump hum, then the engine will fire up.....and the cycle start all over again... this is why I keep thinking it's an electrical issue with something...

    thanks for the help I appreciate it...

  3. Top | #15
    Crazy Moderator
    Array Cinpro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    04-29-2016 @ 10:03 PM
    Location
    Hurricane WV
    Âge
    46
    Posts
    3,267
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Battery voltage check out, alternator?

    Grounds should be from the battery to the tray, tray to the transmission bolt. coils bolted to the head, on the drivers side theres a strap going from the head to the block. clean em and put them back.

    I'm not sure if the Idle air control valve throws a code, check teh TB and make sure its clean, the tube from the head to the intake isn't clogged. double check your oil level.

    Can't believe there isn't a DTC on this.
    http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a174/Cinpro/jokercopy2.jpg

    It's not what you buy,it's what you build!

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Cinpro For This Useful Post:

    lovetowrenchit (09-07-2014)

  5. Top | #16
    Crazy Moderator
    Array Cinpro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    04-29-2016 @ 10:03 PM
    Location
    Hurricane WV
    Âge
    46
    Posts
    3,267
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    FYI the servo sound is the motors for the needles
    http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a174/Cinpro/jokercopy2.jpg

    It's not what you buy,it's what you build!

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Cinpro For This Useful Post:

    lovetowrenchit (09-07-2014)

  7. Top | #17
    Forum Participator Array lovetowrenchit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Last Online
    09-10-2014 @ 07:48 AM
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Battery voltage check out, alternator?

    Grounds should be from the battery to the tray, tray to the transmission bolt. coils bolted to the head, on the drivers side theres a strap going from the head to the block. clean em and put them back.

    I'm not sure if the Idle air control valve throws a code, check teh TB and make sure its clean, the tube from the head to the intake isn't clogged. double check your oil level.

    Can't believe there isn't a DTC on this.
    Cinpro Quoted Post
    done all those things you are suggesting, even cleaned the IAC, and checked the intake
    thanks again, I guess you see what I'm up against, but I'm not ready to give up yet, unless the owner wants to take it to a shop, and at some point I may tell him we have no choice....but not ready to do that yet

  8. Top | #18
    Forum Participator Array lovetowrenchit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Last Online
    09-10-2014 @ 07:48 AM
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    FYI the servo sound is the motors for the needles
    Cinpro Quoted Post
    thanks! for the info...and I appreciate your efforts

  9. Top | #19
    Crazy Moderator
    Array Cinpro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Last Online
    04-29-2016 @ 10:03 PM
    Location
    Hurricane WV
    Âge
    46
    Posts
    3,267
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    the security light is going off if you just turn it to the on position without trying to start it?
    http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a174/Cinpro/jokercopy2.jpg

    It's not what you buy,it's what you build!

  10. Top | #20
    Forum Participator Array lovetowrenchit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Last Online
    09-10-2014 @ 07:48 AM
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    the security light is going off if you just turn it to the on position without trying to start it?
    Cinpro Quoted Post
    I will go check, good question...brb

  11. Top | #21
    Forum Participator Array lovetowrenchit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Last Online
    09-10-2014 @ 07:48 AM
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    the security light is going off if you just turn it to the on position without trying to start it?
    Cinpro Quoted Post
    theft light goes off when turning the key to on, however the trac control is lit, not sure about that one

  12. Top | #22
    Forum Participator Array lovetowrenchit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Last Online
    09-10-2014 @ 07:48 AM
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    the security light is going off if you just turn it to the on position without trying to start it?
    Cinpro Quoted Post
    sorry, double post...dang
    Last edited by lovetowrenchit; 09-07-2014 at 06:33 PM.

  13. Top | #23
    Forum Participator Array lovetowrenchit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Last Online
    09-10-2014 @ 07:48 AM
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm uploading two videos to youtube, once ready I will post them

    one is of the engine dieing after I just went to start it up after sitting for a few hours, the second is right after the engine stalled, I started it back up and it was stable enough for me to raise the RPMs then back down to idle....I should have this uploaded shortly

  14. Top | #24
    Forum Participator Array lovetowrenchit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Last Online
    09-10-2014 @ 07:48 AM
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Ecotec 2.2 just quits running


    Video 1 of 2

    Video maybe a little shaky, but I'm fixing that right now, and it should be of better quality in a moment

    Ecotec 2.2 just quits running after start up

    Video 2 is uploading now
    Last edited by lovetowrenchit; 09-07-2014 at 06:51 PM.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •